It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:54 am

Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
 Which one ton diesel is best for work? 
MMT Addict

Post Which one ton diesel is best for work?
Looking into buying a ‘17 or newer 1 ton single rear wheel work truck and equipping it with a small service body. I am an ag field tech and I’ll be carrying everything but the kitchen sink in this truck with me out in the field. I’m wondering which brand handles a decent amount of weight and work load the best? Currently running a 13 ram crew cab hemi with snap on road chest, air compressor and weatherguard crossover slap full of stuff and looking to step up. Everyone around in the delta is running 3/4 ton has burners getting 10mpg and I’m really wanting to avoid that as well as the lugged down feeling of a 3/4 ton has truck. I know everyone complains about the emissions systems on the newer diesels but I’m wanting to explore my options, am and all help would be appreciated

Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:28 pm
MMT Pro Member

Post Re: Which one ton diesel is best for work?
I would say to check the yellow payload sticker on the drivers side door post of any truck you are interested in.
I'm driving a 2016 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW crew cab 4x4 diesel. It has a payload of 4018#. Rear axle weight rating is 7000#, front axle is 6000#, gross vehicle weight rating is 12,300. You don't want to exceed the axle, tire ratings, or GVWR to be legal.
When I was shopping, the Fords had the least payload, with Chevy/GM next, then Ram the highest. But I think Ford was labelling their trucks with different GVWR for commercial/tax issues. My 2014 F350 SRW Lariat had only 3265# payload.
If you are getting a cab/chassis you are in a different ball game. I "think" it will be labelled as incomplete and then re-labelled after the box is added. I think.
You will have a higher payload with a gas engine vs. a diesel.