It is currently Sun Jun 16, 2024 2:10 pm

Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
 Gov. screw & idle screw ??? 
MMT Member

Post Gov. screw & idle screw ???
My rpms was at 3450 so I turned the Gov. screw and got it back to 4150 at full throttle. Now I cant get my idle down, I tryed to turn the idle screw but looks like the spring is not letting it go back far enough. I am a rookie at this stuff, I need some help if yall could . THANKS.

Tue Feb 22, 2011 4:54 pm
MMT Elite Member

Post Re: Gov. screw & idle screw ???
do a search with the author deadbird8 under the engine forum. He has some pics of it up. How high are your rpms at idle now?

Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:58 pm
MMT Member

Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:24 pm
MMT Pro Member

Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:48 pm
MMT Member

Yes 1950 2000 at idle. That was after turning the gov. Screw to get the rpms at 4150 at wot out the water

Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:09 pm
MMT Pro Member

gottcha. I think I confused myself a little. shoulda re read the 1st post.

Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:31 pm
MMT Elite Member

yea thats real high. You tried adjusting the idle screw on the side the carb correct and it will not move?

Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:15 pm
MMT 1000 Club

sounds like u might have put your linkage in a bine

Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:40 pm
MMT Member

Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:07 pm
MMT 1000 Club

duplicate

Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:06 am
MMT 1000 Club

Setting the Idle

Make sure your throttle cable has full travel. Clamp down the throttle handle on the tiller with the engine off and make sure the slide where the throttle cable connects at the back of the motor has full travel in its track. If it doesn't, loosen the clamp holding the throttle cable at the back of the engine and pull on the cable until the slide travels fully to the end and then retighten the clamp.

Warm the engine up 5 minutes (always set idle with a warm engine).