It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:10 pm

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Planning a longtail... 
MMT Member

Post Planning a longtail...
I've decided to build a budget mud boat. Doing research. Looking for a new Jon boat in the $2500 range. Only found 1 that I like in my price range... boat only.

It's an aluminum Lowe L1648MT Aura... Lowe's online price $2654. Trailer, another $900. Length 15'8", beam 70", approx. basic hull weight 275 lb, bottom width 48", hull guage 0.72", max HP 35, max weight capacity 1014, ribs 9, seats 2 (it has a large front fishing platform that doubles as front seat), side depth 21", transom 20". Pictures (a few) on the Lowe web site.

I'm planning on putting a large high transom kit SPS Swamp Runner long tail hooked to a stock Predator 670 on it.

I'm new to both Jon boats and long tails, so I'm hoping to get some honest opinions on my boat/drive choices. If they are crap, I wanna know. If you can improve on my choices without wallet rape, I.m all ears.

Tom in Wichita, KS

Tue Jun 04, 2019 4:43 pm
MMT Member

Post Re: Planning a longtail...
I just sold an old, 1981 lowe,14x48. My boat was different than the one your looking at, but I did have the medium SPS longtail with a 8 1/2” prop and a 15hp Lifan motor from Home Depot. That little motor/longtail got me out of places I never though I would get out of. Soft mud was no problem for it at all. It had never let me down. I had the 100” shaft due to the width of my boat. 2 people one ice chest a few rods, ran 15-17. 3 people 2 dozen decoys, grassed out, guns and stuff, lucky to get 10mph. It was the cheapest way to get on the water and out of the canoe we were fishing from.

Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:40 am
MMT 1000 Club